Editorial Board

Sheila Bayne, Tufts University
Kendall Brostuen, Brown University
Chris Deegan, University of Illinois at Chicago
Nancy Kanach, Book Review Editor, Princeton University (retired)
Mark Odenwelder, Book Review Editor, Center for Interamerican Studies (CEDEI)
Timothy Perkins, Saint Francis University, Ambialet, France
Michael Woolf, CAPA

Serving on the Frontiers editorial board is an important volunteer activity that serves the field of education abroad.  Editorial board members actively contribute to the development and good management of Frontiers. They are appointed by the Editor for a fixed term of three years with the option of renewal at the discretion of the Editor.

Expected functions and duties of editorial board members include:

  • Participation in a semi-annual meetings of the Editorial Board (one usually takes place at The Forum’s Annual Conference, the other by phone) and additional, occasional conference calls throughout the year as needed
  • acting as ambassadors for the journal, supporting and promoting the journal widely
  • seeking out the best authors and best work (e.g. from meeting abstracts) and actively encouraging submissions
  • reviewing submissions to the journal (expected minimum: 3 per year)
  • evaluating book proposals and special projects
  • occasionally accepting commissions to write editorials, reviews, and commentaries in their specialist area
  • nomination of manuscript reviewers

Editors, editorial board members and peer reviewers are required to comply with Frontier’s Conflict of Interest Policy.

Frontiers recognizes our past editors and editorial board members for their service:  Rhoda Borcherding (1995-2015), Michael Monahan (1995-2007), Gary Rhodes (1995-2007), Thomas Ricks (1995-2015), Barbara Rowe (1995-2007), Urbain [Ben] DeWinter (1996-1997), Katherine Krebs (1996-2015), David Hornung (1997), Barbara Freed (1998-2015), John Engle (1999-2007), Barbara Gügold (1999-2015), Jorge Nowalski (2001-2015), Linda Goff (2002), William Nolting (2002), Chip F. Peterson (2002), Daniel A. Wubah (2003-2015), Michael Vande Berg (2004), Jane Edwards (2004), Hiram Maxim (2004), Steve DePaul (2007-2011), Mingzheng Shi (2007-2015)